The Father’s Heart

In the last few months the Lord brought it to my attention that I really didn’t understand what it looked like to be a daughter of God.

Growing up I took on a lot of roles in my family, but a daughter wasn’t one of them.

I was led to start praying for the revelation of the Father’s heart.

I spent some time doing so and I felt like I wasn’t getting anywhere. I didn’t feel anything, I didn’t see anything, I didn’t dream anything.

Right away I was faced with lies like “If He is so good and in pursuit of your heart, then why aren’t you getting an answer” and “If He is who He says He, then wouldn’t He be eager to answer this prayer?”.

Even for the slightest second I entertained these lies. Because of that I was flooded with discouragement, depression, and isolation.

There was a point that I reached that I made the CHOICE to stand on what I know to be true. Which in all reality is the harder choice. It’s easier to sit in the lies of the enemy then believe the truth. Why would the enemy make it hard?

As an action to follow that choice, I started listening to a podcast. The podcast wasn’t focused on the Father’s heart.

I was laying with my eyes closed and my headphones in.

The speaker referred to God as the Father and automatically I was given a picture.

It started with the word FATHER. Then it got larger and zoomed into the center of the word.

When it got to the center of the word another word popped up.

ADOPTION.

It was then the Lord spoke to me about adoption being the center of the Father’s heart.

God has the family that He needs within the trinity. Father, Son, Holy Spirit.

Yet, He made the CHOICE to bring us into the family.
It’s not like He just got stuck with us.

He fought to get us and fights for us continually.
Just like a Mom or Dad fighting for a child they are wanting to adopt or foster.

Then, the revelation was made personal.

God showed me how I have been taking on this role as an adopted daughter.

Adopted into the kingdom family, but holding onto my troubled self and not Him.
Yet as my Father, He is gentle and patient in His pursuit of my all.

He desires for me as His daughter to trust Him, love Him, cling to Him. But He will never force me to do so. He puts the invitation out there and gives me the choice to do so. Even though His heart is crying out for me to understand how much He really loves me. He will never grow tired of loving me.

And He is perfect. A perfect Father. Unlike any human that takes on that role. He knows me better than I know myself. He loves me more than anyone else could ever. He is my protector, my provider. His love is fierce. It tears down anything that would hurt me if I let Him in front of that thing.

 


 

It was at this time that I really received this revelation and had it solidified in my heart. I know there’s a much deeper point in this. But, I am stuck on this for now until He reveals more to me.

We are His own.

 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑